Came across this young lady Donneka quite a while ago and she has had the most interesting story, since I have started the Tressumé features. Please do take your time, and read about her story. You may have had a similar or the same experience. You might even need just a little motivation, if so do read this.

Name: Donneka

Location: Gainsville, Florida

 

How long have you been natural?
I have been Natural for 2 years and 3 months.

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I big chopped!!! twice!! The first time it was because I had an allergic reaction to weave and the second because I got too close to a candle and it burnt all my hair off!! If someone hadn’t put it out in time my scalp would have burnt my scalp and my face!!! but i survived. And now im back to rockin’ the short hair.

Why did you choose that route?
I chose to big chop because im lazy and under the circumstances of both times i had to big chop.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
My mother owns a natural hair salon so all the women that come in inspired me to go natural and remain natural.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
I dont really need to stay motivated to stay natural because I dont think I would ever go back to relaxed!!! Like, theres no other way but to be natural….at least to me.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
Two products I cant live without would be conditioner and some sort of moisturizer like shea butter or coconut oil.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
When I had some hair (lol) my favorite style was a braid out! But as of now its a wash n go.

What do you love about your natural hair?
I Love the fact that its all completely mine an d it is what i was born with…..like, no one else has my hair but me.

What do you dislike about it?
I dont dislike anything about my hair!!! PERIOD.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
Dont think just because you’ve been watching YT videos, when you do the style in the video, your hair is gonna turn out that way!!!! NEWSFLASH!!!! Your hair isn’t hers!!! Make it your own!!!Do you!!!

Comments:
Always drink LOTS of water!!! It helps your hair and skin!!! If you just big chopped, make sure your makeup is poppin!!!! and your earrings are on point!!!! Less is more!! If your regimen looks like a pamplet or a book…CHANGE IT!! It doesn’t take all that to have you lookin’ good!!!!

Until next time….

Love,
BkAphrodite

