Name: Janis
20120217-163739.jpg

Location: Brooklyn, New York

I am an aspiring CPA and mom to a natural hair college student.

How long have you been natural?
2 years

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
Big chop

Why did you choose that route?
My hair kept falling out with the perm.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
The fact that my hair can be much healthier.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
Not having to bother with my hair everyday.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
My black soap because it is an astringent;My almond soap because it relaxes me.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
My favorite style is my twists.

What do you love about your natural hair?
I like the texture of my natural hair.

What do you dislike about it?
The fact that it has a lot of shrinkage.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
Patience, do lots of research, know your hair texture and what you put in it your hair.

Comments:
Just that black is beautiful, natural is beautiful, don’t let the media fool you.

