NameKeturah Ariel Nailah Bobo

Keturah Ariel Bobo

                                                    Location: Columbus, Ohio                                                                                           

Found this AMAZING lady on my usual Instagram flow, and let me tell y’all! Girl got some bomb ass skills with the art!

Y’all gotta check out her Tressumé, to learn about this talented young lady.

How long have you been natural?

I have been natural for a little over two yearsketurahart

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?

I transitioned for 6months and then did the big chop, although I cut parts of it along the way.

Why did you choose that route?  

I have always had a lot of hair, and so wearing my hair short was a little frightening. Plus, I have a big head, so I didn’t think rocking a short cut would be cute.

How long did you transition?

6 months , cutting bangs first then so on and so forth.

What inspired you to have natural hair?

I was working at the Columbus Museum of Art under the contemporary art curator. She probably was my biggest hair inspiration, because she was a professional woman of color with gorgeous natural hair working in an institution where no one looks like her.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?

I LOVE the versatility of being natural. I love wearing various textures of curls, but I also love to wear it straight from time to time. Basically, I was tired of looking like the same person everyday, being natural gave me freedom.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?

Crème of Nature Conditioning Shampoo and Knot Today by Kinky Curly. My hair has the tendency to become a tangled hot mess and these products both make my hair soft and easy to detangle.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?

girl1Right now I have been trying the bantu knot outs which, so far I love velocity.

What do you love about your natural hair?

I feel more myself than I felt before. It’s an amazing feeling.

What do you dislike about it?

I have a hard time controlling my hair to stay in particular styles, especially in humidity.  Sometimes the unruly behavior works for me, in humidity it’s almost always against me.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?

Just do it, you will love it. Every act of change has a transitional period. Tough it out, put your eyes on the prize, and your back to the wind. It’s an amazing bond, the one a black girl creates with her hair, especially when perhaps her whole life she’s been told that who she is naturally, isn’t beautiful.

Comments: Please check out my art. With the response that I have been receiving about the paintings, I realized there’s a market for natural hair art. It’s about embracing who you are. It’s beautiful, and I want to continue to be apart of this movement. More art is on it’s way!

www.keturahariel.com

www.etsy.com/shop/keturahariel

Find me on any social media site: keturahAriel

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out a little slideshow of the rest of Keturah’s dope work. This is RAW talent and I am IMPRESSED! She created my future chiren y’all. LOL! Peep the hair on these lovely kids.

