Name: MoNae Mayweather

image_5

  Location: Brooklyn, NYimage

How long have you been natural?
I’ve been natural for about 1 year & 8 months.

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I transitioned.

Why did you choose that route?
I am Timage_1ERRIFIED of short hair! I could not imagine myself with a TWA. Even after I transitioned, I still wasn’t happy with the length, but I got over it.
How long did you transition?
I transitioned for about 7-8 months.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
Well, I’ve been natural most of my life. Nothing was wrong with my hair, I just wanted a different look. After looking on Tumblr and natural hair blogs such as Curly Nikki, I was inspired to love and embrace my curls.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?image_2
I love how my hair looks and feels! The versatility of being natural is amazing! If I want, I could straighten it and go right back to having my afro that I love!

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
Shea Moisture Curly Smoothie & Coconut Oil! Shea Moisture products are amazing! They make my hair feel so soft and the smell is awesome! Coconut Oil is my go-to oil because I love the smell and it has helped in my growing process tremendously.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
image_3Well, I’m a lazy natural. (LOL) A twist-out afro is usually my go-to look.

What do you love about your natural hair?
I love the thickness and fullness of it.

What do you dislike about it?
Shrinkage!!!! Length is everything to me and almost discouraged me from keeping my hair natural, but I learned to deal with and embrace it.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
PATIENCE IS KEY! I really wanted to transition for 2 years, but I became very anxious! I wish I was more patience, but I learned that patience is key. Also, take TONS of photos. I look back at my photos from when I first cut the perm out and I feel so proud of image_4my hair and the growth!

Comments:
I recently created a natural hair blog with my 2 best friends called “Hard Knot Life”! You can check us out on Tumblr @ http://hardknotlifeblog.tumblr.com & our YouTube channel, http://www.youtube.com/hardknotlife We post photos of our hair & we’ll be doing videos showcasing our different techniques!

Be sure to also check out Monae on photosbynae.com. She is a photographer with some super amazing work and she has some reasonable prices too. If your a Brooklynite, New Yorker, or ever in the area, be sure to have her hook your photos up.

