Name: Larissa Tonfack

Location: New York

I am a FASHION & BEAUTY lover, Model, and Entrepreneur.

How long have you been natural?
I have been natural for almost 3 years but I did a second big chop a few weeks ago.

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I transitioned for 3 months then did the BC.

Why did you choose that route?
I chose that route because I was curious to see myself with a head full of kinks and coils. I had never experienced it before so I decided to take the plunge and do it.

How long did you transition?
I transitioned for about 3 months.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
Curiosity! lol. My older sister and a good friend of mine went natural and I told them I couldn’t give up on relaxer plus my hair was growing. However, I started to get bored and I decided that I would try and since then I have been natural. I guess once you go natural, you don’t go back.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
My boyfriend. He reminds me everyday how he loves my hair natural and doesn’t want me to go back to relaxers!

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
Only 2? It is hard because I am a product junkie. lol.
1.Water. My hair get thirsty so easily but once I give it water, it feels hydrated and it is more manageable.
2.Shikakai bar soap. Cleanses my hair yet keeps in the moisture.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
My favorite way to wear my hair was in a high bun but since I did a second big chop I rock a braid out all the time.

What do you love about your natural hair?
Its Versatility! oh boy! I can rock so many styles when my hair is natural. I can even have it straight ( not too often though!) and still come back to my kinks. However, when my hair was relaxed , I could never go back to my kinks for some fierce twist/braid out or a FRO!

What do you dislike?
Nothing

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
One size does not fit all. What works for me might not work for you. It is all about trials and errors. If you are having difficulties with your natural hair, do some research. There are plenty of great youtubers, blogs, and website that can assist you in achieving your hair goal.

Comments:
You can find me at :
https://twitter.com/#!/LarissaTonfack

Be sure to also check out Larissa on People.com as a Winner of the PEOPLE’s Real Beauty Contest. Can you say Gorgeous! Natural Hair is growing in the media ladies and gents.

Love your Kinks,
BkAphrodite

