Name: Chanell
20120227-164645.jpg

Location: Bronx, New York

How long have you been natural?
For about 3 years now, I have been natural.

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I transitioned to natural hair.

Why did you choose that route?
I took a trip to Panama, and my aunt who is a hair dresser permed my hair, after that my hair literally started falling out.

How long did you transition?
I was not fully aware of how to actually go about doing a big chop. Therefore, I am not actually sure how long my full transition took place. I basically just kept clipping of my ends until it was all natural.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
The ability to have fuller hair, and the versatility of natural hair.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
I didn’t like how my hair looked on me when it was permed, so I don’t want to go back to that.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
Carols Daughter Heat Protectant because it protects my hair from heat styling and does not leave my hair crunchy.
Hair Rules Ultra Moisturizing conditioner because it adds moisture to my hair making it easier to detangle.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
In a simple bun, nothing spectacular.

What do you love about your natural hair?
I love that every section of my has a different identity. The curls are different, so I have to treat it different.

What do you dislike about it?
When it’s humid outside and my hair gets really frizzy.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
To research a lot; There is never a “correct” way of styling your natural hair. You have to actually research products and try them out on your own to see if they work for you. You must have the correct mindset.

Comments:
I love aphroditekinks.wordpress.com, it helps me through my natural hair process.
&
Never give up, because their are more pros than cons of natural hair.

