Name: Karen Marley

Location: Los Angeles, CA

Karen Marley is an entrepreneur, fashionista, beautiful spirit, and daughter to legend, Bob Marley. She has an eye for fashion, sharing that with many through her exuberant style and boutique, Buttons and Bows LA.

I am extremely humbled to have gotten the opportunity to get an interview with the amazing Karen Marley. Not only am I humbled, I was excited as all heck to share this with you all too. Check out Karen’s natural hair journey below.

How long have you been natural?
I’ve been natural since early 2000.

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I did the “Big Chop”.

Why did you choose that route?
I chose that route because I had been using relaxers and heat (styling) on my hair for many years whilst I lived in Jamaica but after I moved to London in 1999, I couldn’t find a hair stylist to maintain my straight hair the way I liked and was used to. I decided the easiest option for me was to go natural. Within days of cutting my hair I felt the difference, fell in love with my curls and have never looked back.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
Sparing my hair from heat, chemicals and not having to spend hours at the hair salon inspired me to go natural.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
Besides all the compliments I receive, it is extremely healthy, it feels great and the natural look encompasses my “healthy living” lifestyle.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
I actually have three, Kinky Curly’s shampoo & conditioner and Curling Custard. These products keep my curls shiny, tamed, manageable and easy to style.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
I like it short with a little length at the top because it’s easier to manage, yet versatile so I can still have fun with it.

What do you love about your natural hair?
I love the formation of the curls and the fact that my hair is free of harsh and damaging agents.

What do you dislike about it?
I do not like that I have to wash and style my hair every morning.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
I would advise someone with natural hair or transitioning to keep hair very moisturized and only use alcohol-free products.

Comments:
If your ever in LA be sure to stop by Buttons and Bows LA for you fashion fix!

**Disclaimer: All photos were taken from the Buttons and Bows LA instagram page. I do not own any of these pictures**

