For the Thanksgiving holiday I spent time with family in a beautiful cabin somewhere in New Jersey and when I say it was one of the best experiences, I mean it. It felt so good to be so close to home but so far at the same time. It was the perfect place to relax and the cabin was just beautiful. While on the little getaway,  I had to do some schooling!  The background info: My younger cousin D is 13 years old and she is pretty much at the stage where she has to deal with her hair on her own, and she has no idea how she is supposed to be taking care of her hair. Prior to this I had told her what to do and it oviously went in one ear and out the next. This was her hair when I recently saw her…

20121215-161419.jpg

It was all knotted together into one big dread. The girls hair was locking y’all, and I was in awe. She is a swimmer; she swims almost 6 days a week, usually just brushing the hair up into a ponytail without detangling or combing it out. Thank goodness we got to the root of the issue. After encountering her newly dreaded hair, I knew I had to get to schooling..well unless she wanted dreads, but that wasn’t the case. So to get the locked hair detangled I wet it a bit and added some Shea Moisture’s Anti- Breakage Masque and basically combed out whenever and where ever I could. Once that was all done, I used the Shea Moisture’s Yucca and Baobab Thickening shampoo and the Restorative conditioner to detangle her hair. It did take some time but we got through the agony (she is super tender headed). I told her how she should be sectioning her hair and getting the product through her hair evenly, leaving her to try it out on her own for one of the sections that had to be detangled.

20121215-161428.jpg

After washing, conditioning and detangling, we applied some of the Yucca and Baobab hair milk, and a bit of vatika oil to the hair and voila……..

20121202-145837.jpg

Check out her shrinkage!!!!

20121202-145847.jpg

Love your Kinks,

BkAphrodtite

