Name: Jacquelyn Vaz

Location: Miramar, Fl

Jacquelyn Vaz is a 27 year old Fashionista who is originally from New York

but soon moved to Florida at the age of 6. She always wanted to be a

teacher but that later changed when she realized her passion was for

fashion. In 2011 she started her fashion blog Dream-Couture, first fashion

show (Rip the Runway Miami) August 2012 which was her first time designing,

and this fall will be opening her online vintage boutique. She has her own

personal style and loves to thrift. Her goal is to become a well known

stylist because styling has always been the part of fashion she loved the

most. Lastly, Miss Vaz has joy in finding new ways with put clothing

together and believes everyone can look like a star.

How long have you been natural? 2 years

Did you transition or do the Big Chop? Big Chop

Why did you choose that route? I figured I did every hairstyle/color in the world and perms burned my hair so bad that it was time to do what was right. BIG CHOP

What inspired you to have natural hair? I’ve always had a love for natural hair, and watching different YouTube channels made me appreciate all textures of hair. I figured why not see what my hair can be like and experience the Love of the Natural Look.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural? I get numerous compliments on a daily basis and I feel it’s easier than a perm. In addition, there are a million and one hairstyles that can be done with this beautiful mane. There’s no turning back to the creamy crack

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why? Olive Oil and Kinky Curly

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?I Looovve high pony tails it gives me that high fashion look I love

What do you love about your natural hair?I love that you can have a different look everyday if you want. You can go from a big afro to two twist, or even braids it’s amazing

What do you dislike about it? The only thing that can drive me nuts is the shrinkage at times

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair? Own it! What I mean by that statement is you shouldn’t care what anyone says and don’t believe the hype about good hair this good hair that. There is no such thing, everyone has good hair just a different texture so embrace what you have and work it! Always keep your hair moisturized.

Comments:

My Fashion Blog is www.dream-couture.blogspot.com

You can email me Jvdreamcouture@gmail.com

 

