I mentioned in my post from the Tracee Ellis Ross & CurlyNikki event that I got the chance to meet the amazing Tamika Fletcher who is the Co-Owner of Natural Resources Salon. The salon is located in Houston, Texas but the lovely ladies of the salon help educate naturals amongst the states, learn the history behind their hair and how to care for it. They do this through the “Natural Hair Care Bootcamp“.

I was glad to have received the chance to be apart of such an amazing thing a couple months ago(yes this post is past overdue). Upon arrival to the location in which the event took place I was delighted to see tables adorned with manikan heads and a variety of tools to get to learning.

20120908-124602.jpg

Once the group of about 15 people had all arrived we were introduced to the ladies behind the “Natural Hair Bootcamp”. Once we got to know a little about them, we dived right in to learn about ourselves and our own history.

20120908-124611.jpg

The slideshow documented the history of the roots of our hair, back to Africa to the present.

Following the slideshow we got to the hands-on part of the event!

20120908-124616.jpg

20120908-124621.jpg

20120908-124626.jpg

20120908-124634.jpg

We were able to learn techniques for twisting braiding, detangling, locking, and ultimately caring for our hair.

20120908-124640.jpg

We even got an added bonus; how we should blow dry our hair and trim.

This event was definitely one to cherish and I thank the amazing ladies of Natural Resources Salon for such a great experience and program. They helped to reintroduce me to my hair and my roots. I even got some goodies to go home with, how awesome of these ladies.

If your interested in learning more check out NaturalResourcesSalon.com

Love your Kinks,

