I recently took a trip to Central America and it was just amazing! I often heard many speak of the beauty of the Central American vacation spots but I had never been. After three plane rides for about 6 1/2 hours all together I had arrived to San Pedro, Belize.

20120822-140333.jpg

We boarded a small plane in Belize City which would take us to San Pedro where our hotel was located. San Pedro is one of the two small islands of Belize.

20120822-140357.jpg

As we soared across the lands of Belize and islands, it was one of the most beautiful experiences I have had in a long time. The blue waters and flourshing green lands.

I just couldn’t resist the beauty; it makes my heart melt just thinking back. I now understand the beauty everyone spoke about. This island is ridiculously beautiful.

Plus, it is home to the second largest barrier reef. It is a full package.

20120822-140414.jpg

The island of San Pedro is really small compared to the mainland, being that many of the people there road golf carts as cars. I thought this was super cool.

First day on the island and I was loving every moment, hammock living is so me; the breeze, the relaxation, the view.

The island is known for its barrier reef which protects the coral reef and precious sea animals. This caused lots of sea grass around the island and in the water. There was not much of the whole “white sandy beach” concept. None the less I was able to enjoy the water in small spots. I can’t complain. The beach scene was not really what I had expected but I understand that the beauty of the island has to be kept.

This was a totally amazing experience!

Oh and you can’t forget the yummy food!! OMG The national dish of Stew Chicken, Rice & Beans and cole slaw. My mouth is drooling thinking about it.

Me enjoying the Fun in the Sun

20120822-140508.jpg

20120822-140520.jpg

20120822-140545.jpgKeeping my hair up to par on this trip was a bit tricky. Plus, I kept dreaming of having that sun kissed Belizean hair, so I was trying to stay in the salt water and sun. I so wanted reddish brown tips; tt was just so beautiful. I couldn’t help it. I don’t know why I didn’t do a protective style. Though, next time I am totally prepared. To keep my hair fresh and clean after long hot days, or days of salt/chlorine water, I stuck by my trusty ole Shea Moisture and Vaitika Oil.

I also brought the regular conditioner, which is missing.

20120822-140556.jpg

Towards the end of the trip we decided to take visit the mainland. Started the morning bright and early to head to the Belize City. We took a water taxi over and were greeted by our tour guides. Along the route we got to experience some breakfast tacos. They were soooooo delicious.

Once we made our way through the city after about 3 hours we headed for lunch and our tour of the Mayan Ruins and Ziplining. It was super amazing to me that we had to get on a hand cranked ferry to get across the river to the ruins. I loved it!!

20120822-140610.jpg

20120822-140620.jpg

20120822-140641.jpg

20120822-140654.jpgIn Belize and Guatemala at the same time. The view was breathtaking from “El Castillo”(The Castle), which is the main Mayan ruin of Xunantunich(Stone Woman).

The ruin got its name when a man claimed to have seen a woman in the window of “El Castillo”, when he went to the window the lady had disappeared. She was the stone woman.

The tour was beautiful but it was just too darn hot. I was struggling going through the tour. Lol. In my mind I kept trying to figure out how the Mayans survived the heat in that space. If you can tell in the picture I was sweating profusely. The Sun Gods were in full effect around that place, Just remember if your ever in Belize on a tour be prepared for the wrath of the heat.

20120822-140810.jpg

20120822-140817.jpg

You know I came prepared thanks to my Summer CurlBox. “There ain’t no bugs on me, there ain’t no bugs on me, there may be bugs on some of you mugs, but there ain’t no bugs on me”;All “Bugs OFF” 🙂

We came to out final spot in the rain forest for ziplining, which was SO MUCH FUN. Once again hot as heck. I must have lost about 50 lbs with all the walking and sweating. Lol The heat was definitely turned all the way up.

20120822-140827.jpg

Yummy Rum Punch! I think I might need to head back to Belize City! Lol

20120822-140857.jpg

Wrapping up the day in Belize City after our tour on the water taxi. Tell me this isn’t Beauty!!

20120822-140906.jpg

All good things come to and end, but it was joyous none the less. Rewind!! That wasn’t it so our flight got delayed coming back to New York, oh then it was cancelled until the next day. So guess who got to stay and extra day in Belize…….I did! It was a little nerve wrecking because I had anticipated heading to Miami for a bit and back home to NY; oviously God had other plans for me to enjoy. I would like to thank my Airline for allowing me to stay an extra night.

I also took the time to just add a couple other pics that I took while on my trip for your viewing pleasure. Enjoy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Enjoy your Life,

BkAphrodite

20120908-124440.jpg

