Name: Anita

Location: Baltimore, Maryland

I found this young lady on Instagram and she has been a fellow Instagrammer for quite some time. Time and time again I see her post pictures of her amazing transition. If I were a longer term transitioner I’d definitely have to go to her for tips. All of her transition styles come out super! Check out her Tressumé.


How long have you been natural?
I am not fully natural at this time.

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I am a transitioner.
Why did you choose that route?
I chose to transition for two reason… I believe I do not look good with short hair. Had it once (not on purpose…scissor happy stylist) and vowed never again.  Second reason, my husband had one request as he got used to my new hair.  Do not cut off all of your hair, is what he requested.How long have you been transitioning?I have been transitioning now for 12 months (August 2011 last relaxer).  I plan to transition anywhere between 18 months and 24 months.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
I have had a relaxer in my hair since I was 6 years old.  My mom doesn’t need a relaxer and did not know what to do with all of this thick kinky hair.  I have never seen my natural hair and became curious after seeing so many beautiful naturals.  Even though my relaxed hair grew long it always seemed to stop growing at a certain point and I experienced thinning at the temples.  I also have a very sensitive scalp and the relaxer gave me severe burns and I couldn’t take it anymore.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
As my new curls started coming in at first I began feeling like I needed to do something with this thick hair, but after learning so much about how to take care of it and what products to use it became something I began to get excited about.  The longer it got the more I wanted to try new transitioning styles to see what I could do with it next.  I can’t keep one style in (braids) too long because I begin to miss my curls.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
This is really hard to come up with only two because I have become a product junkie.  If I had to go with any two, it would be Shea butter mixture (Shea butter, jojoba oil, coconut oil, & vitamin E oil) and Kinky Curly Knot Today.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
My favorite hair style is two strand twist out with perm rods on the relaxed ends.  This style is great to work out with and if when it gets old it’s great to pull up into a curly puff.  It really blends the two textures.
What do you love about your natural hair?Since I am not fully natural, I have to say I love the thickness of my hair and my curls.  I love when it’s wet and just fingering through to look at how I have different textures throughout.

What do you dislike about it?
Currently, I can’t say I dislike anything about it.  I can say however, I dislike the relaxed ends that I just can’t part with at the moment.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
Patience, patience, patience.  This is a process.  Even through the transition you will still be figuring things out about your hair.  The more it grows the chances are you may have to change things up a bit.  Try not to fall into the product junkieism (as I have)!! There are so many things to try, so stick with what you know works until it doesn’t work anymore.  Most of all don’t give up to fall into hair typing and when you find out yours isn’t want you expect, be happy with what you have and learn how to take care of it.  There will be those who do not like it and that’s ok, you are doing it for you and not everyone else’s approval.

Comments:
Follow me on Instagram:  Nita67
Youtube Channel: aljohnson19 (sorry no fancy name☺) – I didn’t know that channel would evolve into anything when I signed up.
