Jana (JAH-nah) L. Henry

Location: Currently Philly, but Born and Bred in good old Michigan!


How long have you been natural?

I received my last creamy crack treatment in 2008!
Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I guess you could say I transitioned, although I had no intention of actually wearing an afro. I would wear weaves or keep my hair pressed up until about June 2011 when I decided to let a friend chop all my hair off.

Why did you choose that route?
Well honestly my pockets were lonely from all the money I was putting into expensive weaves and I’m currently a full time student. It wasn’t realistic for my bank account. I was also realizing that the constant heat from pressing and flat ironing was breaking my hair off in various places. I decided to give my hair a break!

How long did you transition?
I was relaxer free for about 2 ½ years before I chopped it.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
The thing that inspired me most was that natural hair to me seemed like a healthier choice. I was a bit nervous because those who knew me knew that I was a weave queen so this was a big change.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
The thing that has kept me motivated to remain natural is the fact that I reaaaallllly want to rock a big afro! Aside from that I don’t care if I sweat during a workout, I can spend more time sleeping in the morning (at least at this point because it doesn’t take much to maintain a TWA!) As story bookish as it may sound, I feel like I fell in love with my hair in its natural state. I don’t NEED a weave to feel gorgeous anymore. I’ve thought about rocking one again though, but it’s no longer a necessity. It’s a just cause I want to change it up, lol!

What are two (2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
I personally love Castor oil, and Coconut oil. I wet my hair and apply the Coconut Oil which is good for dry scalp as well as moisturizing hair. I then apply Castor Oil which is beneficial towards the prevention of hair loss and hair thinning. They have been working great for me the past few months. As my hair grows longer I might have to change my routine up but I’m going for what I know as of now.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
I like to two strand twist my hair while it is dry. I apply a little bit of oil all over my hair once I’m finished twisting. I then apply Garnier Fructis Curl Construct Mousse and tie my hair up with a silk scarf. The next morning I untwist and apply just a little more oil so my twist out doesn’t have a hard crunchy feeling and it last a few days. I might spritz with water to keep it looking fresh. It’s an easy and cute way to rock my TWA.

What do you love about your natural hair?
I love that it’s mine and it’s also a beautiful thing to me that I receive so many compliments on my hair. I was very nervous about how it would look but the love is non-stop☺

What do you dislike about it?
I dislike that sometimes my scarf will fall off while sleeping (I’m a rough sleeper) and I wake up with a smushed looking dougie something of a hairstyle. Nothing is perfect I just run for the water and moose and work it all out in the A.M.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
I would recommend that you just do it. I assure you that everyone won’t like it but who cares. There are some who love it. The thing that matters most is how you feel!

Comments:
Instagram: @simplymejana
Tumblr: http://simplymejana.tumblr.com/
Twitter: @SimplymeJana

