MANE MAN (Jor-El)
 
New York, NY
How long have you been natural?
I’ve never been asked this question before! I guess I’ll have to say that I’ve been natural for about 3-4 years now. Back in Summer 2008 I got a texturizer and while I liked it for a few weeks, I immediately grew it out and returned to low cut Caesar cuts until Fall 2009. That’s when I started to grow my hair out.
What inspired you to have natural hair?
What has kept you motivated to remain natural? The best thing about this experience has been the growing sense of confidence I’ve felt since embracing my fro. Like women, I think its also difficult for guys who get pressures to look a certain way. I grew tired of having the same hair cut for years and years and just needed a change. I really enjoy the way my hair looks now and how it better reflects my character and personality.
What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
Only two?! If I HAVE to decide, I’m going to say that I must have Tresemme Naturals Moisture Conditioner. It is the best drug store conditioner I have used to date. It has great slip and my hair loves that stuff! And for the second? I’d have to say that I always need a good gel or styling cream on hand for my go to wash and go. One of my favorites has to be Donna Marie’s Dream Curling Cream.
What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
I really only rock wash and go’s to be honest. It’s easy to do, gives me the look I want and I’ve got it down to a science LOL.
What do you love about your natural hair?
To be honest, I love the texture and thickness of it. I have SO much hair!
What do you dislike about it?
Probably the same things! When I first starting growing out my hair, it was tough to adjust my mind to recognize and appreciate my texture and curl pattern, but now that I understand my hair, I’m a little obsessed with it. The thickness can be tough to deal with during detangling sessions but conditioners with good slip typically help me out with that.
What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
From my own experience and from what I’ve heard from women out there, it can be an emotional journey and social support is key to making any lasting change. Be courageous and challenge the status quo!
Comments:
Feel free to stop by my blog, MANE MAN (manemanblog.com), where I report on natural hair from a guy’s perspective. I do product reviews of hair and grooming products and host giveaways too! Check me out on Facebook atFacebook.com/manemanblog and on Twitter @manemanblog.


