Took a week to myself away from the hustle and bustle of New York City. I visited the DMV(DC/Maryland/Virgina) area, where I enjoyed good food, drinks, art, and the company of the great people. Here is a sneek at a bit of my Memorial Day week vacay.

20120531-220038.jpg

20120531-220049.jpg

Sushi & Salad from AP Fusion

Art from the Columbia Arts Center

Rita’s 

I cant forget to have Rita’s, this thing is like my ultimate DMV addiction. The world definitely needs more Rita’s.*Ehhem NYC*

While in the DC I got the chance to meet up with fellow natural hair blogger and beauty MamaNaturalista (Check out her Tressume’ if you haven’t already). She was such a doll, we visited Union Station and chatted a bit (about natural hair of course). She even gave me a mini tour of DC (Lol), even though it was TOTALLY unplanned. It was an experience none the less because I would not have had an opportunity to see DC as much as I did with the addition of a small section of Maryland. Thanks MamaNaturalista, you were and amazing host.

Art in the Smithsonian (Was loving the African American Ballerina, who by the way had natural hair braided up)

20120531-220219.jpg

While in Maryland I stayed with my aunt who used to be natural and she convinced me to experiment with my hair and finally do a vinegar rinse. I used 1 cup of water to 1 tablespoon of vinegar, applied to my hair an rinsed with cold water(which is also good to refresh your curls). These were my results above and below freshly rinsed with a vinegar and water mixture. After rinsing I applied my Karen’s Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia/Pomegranate Guava Leave in mix.

20120531-220232.jpg

20120531-220239.jpg

I had a great time in the DMV and can’t wait to come back for another visit.I can’t wait to visit again, hopefully I can meet up with the rest of you DMV naturals 🙂

Love your Kinks,

BkAphrodite

