Marisol B. Correa (Mama Naturalista)
20120502-002331.jpg
Washington, DC

Naturalista & Mama of 4!!!! Model, Singer, Dancer, Actress &Writer.
Blogger, Vlogger, Wife, Mom, US Army Vet & All Things Boxing!

How long have you been natural?

I have been 100% for almost 1 year!

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?

I transitioned.

Why did you choose that route?

I chose to transition because I didn’t know what my Natural Hair texture was! I wanted to get reacquainted with my curls and do plenty of research before choosing whether I wanted to continue transitioning or to do the Big Chop.

How long did you transition?

I transitioned for 6 months and then I did the Big Chop! During the transitioning process I used heat on my hair to blend the two textures. I didn’t know much about heat damage at the time so when I did my BC, I had MAJOR heat damage. I then did a 2nd Big Chop and cut my Natural hair which was about 6 inches at the time down to 1/2 inch!!!! 

What inspired you to have natural hair?

My children! I have 4 kids and they ALL have beautiful Natural Curls! 

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?

My children & my Hubby! They have been my strongest support system! When you surround yourself with positive and supportive people whether it’s family or friends – It makes you feel that much more positive and supportive of yourself!  

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?

Herbal Essences – Hello Hydration Conditioner and Avocado Butter. 

HE – HH because of the slip it gives for my detangling sessions and     Avocado Butter because I love the way it makes my hair feel and it keeps my hair moisturized.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?

I love to wear my hair in a PonyPuff and in a Wash & Go! I like other    styles as well but as a working mother of 4 kids, I like to go with the easiest and less time consuming styles! 

What do you love about your natural hair?

I LOVE the versatility and beauty of it! 

What do you dislike about it?

I don’t dislike anything about my hair!  If I had to dislike something, it would only be the amount of time it can take to do my hair. I wish I had more time. LOL!

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?

If it seems that you run into a dead end and say “I Can’t”, take a breather and reassure yourself that You Can! Ask for help. Ask a family member, consult with a Natural Hair Beautician, ask a friend, search websites, look at YouTube videos and most of all, DON’T QUIT!

Comments:

You Can Find Me At:

Blog/Website: http://www.MamaNaturalista.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mamanaturalista

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/MarisolCorrea

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MarisolC79


