So I wish I knew where to start. The excitement is making me lose focus…But let’s get down to business!

After numerous talks, photos, etc. of the array of curls in the natural hair community (via every single networking site) I kept getting that urge. On the Friday before presidents day(February 17), I went out and got some shears and began clipping my ends myself. Oh, how scissor happy I got. After a couple of weeks the back portion of my hair almost was relaxed free. Of course I was suffered from the hand in hair syndrome. I couldn’t resist it. I WAS LOVING MY HAIR!

The front of my hair still had a lot more relaxed ends so I stuck it out with my braid outs. For me I liked to keep a style for as long as possible. I would keep my braid outs typically 5 or 6 days depending on my schedule. That dang front section just wasn’t acting right! It would get really straights after about the 3rd day. It was like the natural hair Gods were telling me something(LoL). I had epiphany. Some of you may or may not know that I finally did my Big Chop. After 11 months of transitioning I finally got tired of the two textures. I initially wanted to BC for my birthday this coming April but as you can see I just could not wait that long. I was also very anxious to see my curl pattern without my relaxed ends weighing down my hidden curls.

I logged on to Twitter for the weekly #TribeThurdays with my favorite gal @TribeCalledCurl . This day in particular I wanted to know a good salon in my area and Miss Imani directed me right in the hands of the amazing Tendril’s Hair Spa located in Fort Greene,Brooklyn.

I made that appointment, and waited for the day to arrive. March 16 finally arrives; I’m anxious, nervous, excited everything in one. As I’m approaching the salon I’m just thinking what the finished look would be. I have never had short hair besides the day I was born. I get to Tendril’s and I am welcomed by the person at the front desk; the atmosphere was definitely inviting. My hair was first detangled, washed with Jane Carter Solution Shampoo and conditioner, then detangled again. My wash never felt so good which made the event even more relaxing. I then sat under the dryer for maybe about 25 mins. with a deep conditioner applied and it was washed out.

I got into the hot seat and my stylist Carla(who was also very pleasant) asked me about my plans for my hair, why I chose to go natural, and the look I was interested in. Then, it began she clipped away those ends!! I was still a tad nervous, but I was sure that Carla knew exactly what she was doing. After the cut, my hair was washed and conditioned again. Then was ready to be styled. Carla applied an oil to my hair (I should know the name) which smelled amazing, almost as good as candy. She then applied Jane Carter Solution Curl Defining Cream; flat twisting the front portion of my newly released curls and styling the back portion into that good ‘ole TWA(Teenie Weenie Afro). To keep the style in place, I went under the dyer for a little and my flat twists were removed.

I fell in love with my new styled hurr. A week later and I’m loving it even more.

TWA Livin’ & Lovin’ it…..

Until next time….

Love,
BkAphrodite

