Name: Kini Slaughter
20120323-201021.jpg
Location:Atlanta, GA

How long have you been natural?
I’ve been natural for a decade.

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I flat-ironed my hair for years, because I didn’t even know that my hair even had a curl pattern. I BC’d in late 2009.

Why did you choose that route?
I chose that route actually because my stylist informed me that all the length I had (which wasn’t much) was heat damaged. So she convinced me that I should cut it, I was shocked at how short it was, but it ended up being exactly what I needed!

What inspired you to have natural hair? What has kept you motivated to remain natural?Beautiful, healthy coils, retaining length, and a plethora of styling choices motivate me to remain natural. For many it’s a passing trend, but it is a lifestyle for me. I don’t EVER plan on returning! I’ve also just started a natural hair apparel line to encourage self-esteem and motivate women to embrace their natural hair. So I want to serve as an example of a woman that does just that.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why? Darcy’s Botanicals Pumpkin Seed Curl Moisturizing Conditioner – I use it as a deep conditioner. It’s thick and it softens my hair wonderfully! Curly Kinks Coil Jam actually elongates my coils and revitalized some old highlights!

What is your favorite way to wear your hair? My trademark style is a Wash ‘n Go. But lately, I’ve been wearing my hair in protective flat-twist updo styles.

What do you love about your natural hair? I love the versatility that my natural hair has. I can switch up my look all the time. I use Ayurvedic herbs, food products and some oils that I never dreamed of using before I started wearing my hair curly. Best of all, my hair is stronger and healthier than it ever was before.

What do you dislike about it? I try to embrace it, but I do dislike the extreme shrinkage that my hair has. It literally looks several inches shorter than it actually is.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
I would recommend understanding your hair type and it’s characteristics. It aids in not feeling frustrated over a million products that don’t work on your hair. Visit some product boards that mention certain lines, read the reviews. Learn the type of ingredients your hair likes (trust me, it’ll let you know)! I recommend researching for yourself in addition to meeting up with other naturals for info and support! Prominent YT vloggers/bloggers can also be a wonderful source of information. They help to motivate and do reviews that could save time and money.

Comments:

Variety Curls Apparel Coming Soon, Stay Posted

