Name: Brandi Austin

20120316-211624.jpg

Location: Los Angeles, CA
How long have you been natural?
All together 8 years!
Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I transitioned.
Why did you choose that route?
I cut my hair after a breakup in 2004. I wanted to get rid of some of the Negative energy I was holding and I sat down and cut if off. At the time I didn’t really know how to care for it, so I went back to wearing weaves. Then in 2005 I dyed my hair blonde which totally destroyed it. I then transitioned by wearing weaves for 3 years. In 2008 I felt it was time to let go of the weaves and rock my natural hair. I was really encouraged by the director of a play i was doing, so I went for it! Thus far, it has been the best decision I could’ve made.
How long did you transition?
I can’t believe I went back and forth for 4 years!
What inspired you to have natural hair?
I’ve always wanted to wear my hair natural even as a child. My mom would wash my hair and i would run from the blow dryer because I wanted to wear it wet and curly.
What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
The compliments I get from total strangers about my hair and it’s on trend in the entertainment industry right now. Especially for commercials which I audition for regularly.
What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
Shea Moisture’s Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie, I love using this product for two-strand twist. It leaves my curls full of bounce and super soft, plus the scent it has is yummy! Miss Jessie’s Rapid Recovery Treatment totally brings my hair back to life! It defines my curls and adds just the right amount of moisture.
What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
It’s a toss up between my go to fro-hawk and a high sleek Marley bun.
What do you love about your natural hair?
I’m really in love with the natural texture of my hair. The combo is really interesting! I have this amazing patch of soft curls in my crown and tighter coils on the side.
What do you dislike about it?
I’m super “tender headed”, so the combing and de-tangling process is really a headache for me.
What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
If you are considering going natural, just do it! Its an amazing experience! Spend the time to get to know which products your hair loves. Remember what is great for one Naturalista is not good for another.

Comments:
Photos Courtesy of RDigital Photos www.twitter.com/rdigitalphotos
follow me on twitter: www.twitter.com/brandiaustin
like me on Facebook: www.facebook.com/OfficialBAustin

Until next time….

Love,
BkAphrodite

