Destiney

Location: Houston, Tx

I’m always ready for a new style, that’s when being natural kicked in. I wore weaves for years; I though time for a change and I’m enjoying it.

20120224-225130.jpg

How long have you been natural?
I’ve been natural since December 30, 2012

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
The Big Chop. I cut off my relaxed ends which left me with a TWA(teenie weenie afro)

Why did you choose that route?
Dealing with 2 types of hair (relaxed and natural)is hard to handle. I would rather start fresh and work my way on up. Having short hair also helped me become confident in myself.

What inspired you to have natural hair?
I always like to try new things, and after I researched it and seen the pictures, stories, and tips I fell in love!

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
My family members, my boyfriend, and of course my natural hair people out there with their stories and amazing pics! To see the love, confidence, and positivity that comes from the natural world makes me want to continue my journey.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
Alikay Naturals Growth Oil, amazing product for moisturize and growth and Shea Moisture Curling Shouffle, great for moisture and defining curls.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
I love my fro-hawk, it’s so stylish and quick to do.

What do you love about your natural hair?
I love the fact that without a perm I can still have a nice grade of hair, and the process of finding new styles, tips, and finding yourself is an amazing feeling. And I will have a big head of healthy curls in no time!

What do you dislike about it?
I hate having short hair and trying to make sure I pull it off every morning.lol

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
Moisturize your hair EVERYDAY, don’t become discouraged, and become creative, don’t be scared to do your hair and try new styles. Keep touch with other naturals and YouTube and blogs are your best friend!

Comments:
It’s an amazing process! It brings a ton of positivity, confidence, and love into your life. And you’ll be surprised how many naturals are out there, and eager to help. Love Destiney.

Until next time…..

Love,
BkAphrodite

