With permed hair, I saw numerous friends almost always getting that “wet and wavy” weave. Nine times out of ten they just had to have it. Who wouldn’t like being able to have curly hair when wet, and straight hair the next day. Now, I never was the weave type, but I too just had to have it. It was just something about being able to have such versatile hair on my head. So I purchased my first “wet and wavy” weave, it costs me about $150, but I just knew I needed it. Let’s not forget, there’s a price to install that thing too!! Lucky for me I had a cousin that knew how to install weaves.

I wore it straight for a couple of days, had an event to go to, so I figured hey why not flaunt my “wet and wavy” look. I knew I had to find a way to blend the straight permed hair, and my new “wet and wavy”, so I braided the part of my hair that was left out. When it came time for the unleashing of what I thought would be beautifully blended 12″ curls flowing down my back, I was DISAPPOINTED! What I expected, came out looking like a wannabe curly look with my hair, and beautiful curls just below that. So I had to find a quick way to make it work. I just pinned it up without the desired “wet and wavy” look, but just a hot mess look!

Long after this fiasco(maybe about a 1 1/2 years), I decided that I would research this whole “natural hair” movement that was going on. Though, I still believed that black hair was “nappy”; I sure as hell couldn’t achieve curly,wavy hair because I wasn’t one of those with “good hair” or I wasn’t “mixed”(even though a large population of the world is mixed with more than one race). After much research I discovered that all of this is indeed NOT FACTUAL!

I came across many natural hair blogs Curlynikki.com and Youtubers like Naptural85 & KimmayTube and they definitely helped change all of those thoughts. Their numerous posts, and videos showed me that natural hair is awesome. Hence, I began my journey to natural hair, as a transitioner. I have been transitioning for 11 months and I just LOVE the Kinks and Coils coming in.

So why is as African-American women we desire that “European straight” look? Why do we continue to believe that our hair is “nappy”? Why are we going out and purchasing these expensive weaves that pull at our edges, and destroy our precious strands?

Girl, Go Natural! It doesn’t cost you lots of money or your precious strands. You’ll have that Kinky, Coily, Curly look whenever you please. Oh, and if you just have to have that straight look once in a while, you can do that too.

Embrace your own Versatility!!!

Until next time….

Love,
BkAphrodite

