Name: Justina
Location: Brooklyn, N.Y.

20120213-122425.jpgI am a college student, aspiring doctor, and I enjoy modeling as a hobby.

How long have you been natural?
Since birth, 20 years

Why did you choose to remain natural?
Many things play a role in me remaining natural. When I was younger, my mother told me that I shouldn’t put a perm in my hair because I have “good hair”, and it has done damage to hers. I feel I wasn’t taught how to take proper care of my hair then as well. Also seeing friends and family perming their hair made me wonder why I could not do the same. I basically got used to the fact that I could not get a perm. Throughout the years I have come to realize different things about my hair, and began to realize and understand it’s true beauty. I understood why my mother often told me not to perm my hair. It wasn’t until 3 years ago, remaining natural became my personal choice.

What inspired you to remain natural?
Honestly, part of it was spite because people would always make comments about my hair like “you should just get a perm”, because many people frowned upon natural hair. I feel that it was in my nature to prove them wrong. Before entering college I was told I “needed a new look”, and “I looked like a baby”. The most controversial comment I experienced was being told “only Jamaicans like natural hair(because of their dreadlocks), it would be hard for me to attract guys, and I need to look pretty and sexy”. I was very appalled at this persons comments but I took that as inspiration to prove that I did not need to have straight hair to stay pretty.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
Learning about the history of natural hair, and how to better take care and maintain my hair.

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
SHEA MOISTURE!!! All of their products because their products are all natural, no parabens, no sulfates, no alcohol, and pretty much nothing that will strip your hair of it’s natural glory.
Raw Haitian Castor Oil even though I hate the “peanut butter” smell, it has made my hair thicker and softer.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
I favorite way to wear my hair is in my afro mohawk or a bantu knot out.

What do you love about your natural hair?
The texture of my curl pattern, right after I wash it.

What do you dislike about your natural hair?
I dislike the thinning in my edges and the fact that the back of my hair is shorter, than the front.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
YouTube! YouTube! YouTube! I have learned so much about how to better take care of my hair from other naturals.

Comments:
Don’t be natural because everyone is doing it. Be natural because you know what it means for YOU.

Until next time….

Love,
BkAphrodite

