I have decided to be the first to submit my Tressumé to help empower and help some of you out there.

Though, I did mention my story in my About section, I’ll do it again but this time it’s on my Tressumé(I just love how that sounds!!).

Name: BkAphrodite

Location: New York City

20120208-235943.jpg

How long have you been natural?
I am not fully natural as of yet but I feel its right that I consider myself as a natural hair gal.

Did you transition or do the Big Chop?
I am currently transitioning. The last time I had a perm was March 31, 2011. I am not exactly sure when I had the thought of going natural but I do know I had thought about it a multitude of times before that.

Why did you choose that route?
I am AFRAID of short hair!! I rather wait it out and see how comfortable I get with the length of my hair and managing it before I do a Big Chop.

How long have you been transitioning?
I have technically been transitioning since my last perm. Though that is way to close to say that I am transitioning in my opinion. I have been without perm for about 11 months

What inspired you to have natural hair?
I grew up with 5 girl cousins and we were always around to the point were they all are like my sisters. They all have never permed/texturized their hair. They now have beautiful healthy heads of kinks, coils, curls, and spirals.

What has kept you motivated to remain natural?
The fact that I want to have healthy hair, looking back at old pictures and seeing how much more healthier my hair was surprised me. Plus big, bouncy, and coils look so AWESOME!

What are two(2) natural hair products that you just can’t live without? Why?
My Shea Moisture Reconstructive Mask, and my Satin Bonnet. My hair is always moisturized and protected.

What is your favorite way to wear your hair?
I love, love, love, braid outs, plus I figured out a technique to master them.

What do you love about your natural hair?
I love that it is healthy, and it has waves.

What do you dislike about it?
For me as a transitioner, I have to say TANGLES!! I hate tangles.

What tip(s) would you recommend to someone who wants to become natural, is transitioning, or needs advice about natural hair?
Stay motivated, watch YouTube videos, read blogs, speak to someone with natural hair. NEVER GIVE UP(though that’s with anything)!

Comments:
Join the community if you haven’t already. It is full of so much positivity, and your older natural hair sisters will always be there to help you out if you need it. (With transitioning you can get the Big Chop itch, it might creep up on you).

Until next time….

Love,
BkAphrodite

